Frequently Asked Questions
DO YOU HAVE VEGAN OPTIONS?
Yes! All of our breads are Vegan, unless they have cheese in them. And we make sure to label those breads accordingly (Cheesy Grits, Blue Cheese Walnut, Cheddar Jalapeño...).
Now when it comes to our pastry items, we do not have any vegan options. Our name should be an indicator that we love our butter. We do care about the quality and sourcing of our eggs and dairy. We use Tickiwoo Farms pasture raised eggs, Cruz Dairy milk and buttermilk, and Pulgra European Style Butter.
DO YOU HAVE GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS?
We do not offer any gluten free breads. Gluten is what we specialize in. However, we do offer some pastry options such as our flourless brownie that are made without flour. Also we have a beautiful cheese and meat fridge that is 100% safe for those staying away from gluten.
WHAT IS GLUTEN?
Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (wheatberries, durum, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham), rye, barley and triticale. Gluten is essential to the bread making process as it helps bread maintain its shape and flavor.
SHOULD I AVOID GLUTEN?
If you have Celiac's disease or some other autoimmune disorder, yes you should avoid gluten. If you don't have an autoimmune disorder you should be just fine consuming gluten. The reason many people suffer with gluten is due to how modern "breads" are made and the lack of fermentation in the bread making process. Our bread is fermented for many hours, which helps break down the gluten and in return makes it easier for you body to digest. Which brings us to the next question...
WHAT IS FERMENTATION?
Fermentation is the chemical breakdown of a substance by bacteria, yeasts, or other microorganisms. In bread, fermentation occurs when yeast and bacteria inside the dough convert carbohydrates to carbon dioxide causing gas bubbles to form, which has a leavening effect on dough as well as creating flavor. This process is very similar to wine, beer and sauerkraut.
In our bread making process we use wild yeast and spend 30 to 40 hours building the bread. This allows for a yeasted and bacterial fermentation to occur and for the gluten to be broken down. This means that we've broken down some of the gluten in the bread and in return it makes it easier for your body to digest.
For the most part, when you purchase "bread" at the grocery store, you are buying a bread that has undergone minimal fermentation and has been risen in a very short amount of time through the use of instant yeast. The loss of the wild yeast and fermentation process is what cause people to develop gluten intolerances. It is due to how the bread is made, not because gluten in itself the problem.