Frequently Asked Questions


Do you have any sourdough?

The majority of our breads are European style sourdoughs, so it will be less sour than a San Francisco style sourdough but the process is the same. We use a long fermentation with wild yeast. This produces a healthier and more flavorful bread.

*** Please note that the Nine Grain, and Challah are the only breads we make that are not sourdough. Our retail staff can help answer any questions you may have regarding the breads we have available each day.


DO YOU HAVE GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS?

We do not offer any gluten free breads. Gluten is what we specialize in. However, we do offer some pastry options such as our flourless brownie that are made without flour. Also we have a beautiful cheese and meat fridge that is 100% safe for those staying away from gluten. 


WHAT IS GLUTEN?

Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (wheatberries, durum, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham), rye, barley and triticale. Gluten is essential to the bread making process as it helps bread maintain its shape and flavor.


SHOULD I AVOID GLUTEN?  

If you have Celiac's disease or some other autoimmune disorder, yes you should avoid gluten. If you don't have an autoimmune disorder you should be just fine consuming gluten. The reason many people suffer with gluten is due to how modern "breads" are made and the lack of fermentation in the bread making process.  Our bread is fermented for many hours, which helps break down the gluten and in return makes it easier for you body to digest.  Which brings us to the next question...


WHAT IS FERMENTATION?

Fermentation is the chemical breakdown of a substance by bacteria, yeasts, or other microorganisms. In bread, fermentation occurs when yeast and bacteria inside the dough convert carbohydrates to carbon dioxide causing gas bubbles to form, which has a leavening effect on dough as well as creating flavor. This process is very similar to wine, beer and sauerkraut.

In our bread making process we use wild yeast and spend 30 to 40 hours building the bread. This allows for a yeasted and bacterial fermentation to occur and for the gluten to be broken down. This means that we've broken down some of the gluten in the bread and in return it makes it easier for your body to digest. 

For the most part, when you purchase "bread" at the grocery store, you are buying a bread that has undergone minimal fermentation and has been risen in a very short amount of time through the use of instant yeast. The loss of the wild yeast and fermentation process is what cause people to develop gluten intolerances. It is due to how the bread is made, not because gluten in itself the problem. 


DO YOU HAVE VEGAN OPTIONS? 

Yes! Most of our breads are Vegan. All our sourdough breads are vegan unless they have cheese or meat in them, and we make sure to label those breads accordingly (Cheesy Grits, Feta Basil, Cheddar Jalapeño, Bacon Baguette...). We do make loaves such as Challah which contains Tickiwoo Farm pasture raised eggs which is not vegan.

Other non-bread vegan options include our vegan sandwiches, salads, and some vegan pie options.

Please note that we are not a vegan bakery, and if you are concerned about your dietary restrictions please inquire with our bakery staff before purchasing.  

When it comes to our pastry items, we do not have any vegan options other than the vegan pies. Our name should be an indicator that we love our butter. We do care about the quality and sourcing of our eggs and dairy. We use Tickiwoo Farm pasture raised eggs, Tennessee whole milk and Cruz Dairy buttermilk, and Pulgra European Style Butter


Videos To LEARN More


Bread

 

Secrets of Sourdough

 

The Art of Baking Bread


Real and Sustainable Food

 

Unbroken Ground

 

In Defense of Food

 

Navigating the Supermarket Aisles

 

Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation